Cohort Study on Substance Use Risk Factors
 

Study description

Substance consumption by young people remains one of the most widespread and costly problems in Europe. This remains true despite important investments made into education and prevention related to alcohol and drug consumption. It is the first cause of death among young people in the world. Consumption of illicit drugs and alcohol is associated with various hazardous behaviours such as violence, injuries, suicide, depression, school dropouts or risk sexual behaviours. It is a strong factor in substance abuse later at adult age and addiction, particularly among men in most societies.

A majority of young men have hazardous behaviours. According to a study directed in Switzerland, near to 70% of 19-year-old-men have hazardous behaviours (i.e. cannabis consumption at least twice a week, daily tobacco consumption or binch drinking at least twice a month). And yet, a majority of young men with hazardous behaviours mature out at adult age. Unfortunately not all of them.

Such behaviours as substance consumption are the result of the interaction and interdependance between behavioural, personal and environmental factors. Environmental and family factors tend to strengthen such behaviours, while personal factors alter the way in which individuals perceive and interact with their environment.

 

 

Main study investigations:

What are the tendencies and prevalence in substance consumption? What are their consequencies among young adults in Switzerland?

How come that a majority of young adults with risk behaviours come up again, but later, with risk behaviours? What are the risk and protective factors and circumstances that protect from substance abuse and that allow to mature out later in life?

In order to reply to such investigations, it is necessary to follow the same persons up to their middle age.

Longitudinal studies on substance consumption are rare and costly. Most of them are directed in North America, where youth culture is multiple. Such studies are rare in Europe. C-SURF is the first in Europe, to our knowledge. And yet, Switzerland stands in the head of European countries with regard to substance consumption rates by teenagers.

The C>SURF study seeks to follow substance consumption by 19-year-old-young adults during at leat 10 years. These young adults come from all sorts of horizons: they are not all "clean", nor do they all have a low consumption rate. The sample in this study seeks to be the most representative of real life.

The C>SURF study concerns young swiss adults who have to go through the mandatory recruitment process at the Swiss army. This process covers 98% of the swiss male 18-year-old-people. It allows our study to cover a maximal range of the male population in Switzerland.

Participants in this study receive a financial reward (vouchers), which is interesting considering their age.

 

 
www.c-surf.ch © 2010-2015
— 50'842 visites —
?
Javascript

Your browser does not support Javascript. This could result from several reasons:

• Javascript is disabled in this browser.

• Your browser is too old for Javascript.

Either enable Javascript in your browser or upgrade to a newer version to enjoy all the functions of this website.

Cohort Study on Substance Use Risk Factors
 

Fondements et objectifs

La consommation de substances chez les jeunes reste un des problèmes les plus étendus et coûteux en Europe, et ceci malgré les investissements considérables dans les programmes de prévention et d'éducation sur l'alcool et les drogues. C'est la première cause de mortalité des jeunes au monde. La consommation de drogues illicites et d'alcool est associée à divers comportements à risque tels que la violence, les blessures, le suicide, la dépression, l'arrêt de la scolarité et les comportements sexuels à risques; c'est un fort facteur d'abus de substances plus tard à l'âge adulte et de dépendance, et est prédominant chez les hommes dans la majorité des sociétés.

La majorité des jeunes hommes présentent des comportements à risques. Selon une étude menée en Suisse, près de 70% des jeunes hommes de dix-neuf ans présentent des comportements à risques (à savoir la consommation de cannabis au moins deux fois par semaine, consommation quotidienne de tabac ou encore beuverie au moins deux fois par mois). Cela dit, la majorité des jeunes à comportement à risques finissent par s'en sortir au passage à l'âge adulte. Malheureusement pas tous.

Les comportements tels que la consommation de substances sont le résultat de l'interaction et l'interdépendance de facteurs comportementaux, personnels et environnementaux. Les facteurs environnementaux et familiaux renforcent ces comportements alors que les facteurs personnels altèrent la manière dont les individus perçoivent et répondent à leur environnement. 

 

Principales questions de recherche:

Quelles prévalence et tendance de la consommation de substances ainsi que leurs conséquences chez les jeunes adultes en Suisse?

Comment se fait-il que la majorité des jeunes adultes à comportement à risques présentent plus tard, de nouveau, des comportements à risques? Quels sont les facteurs protecteurs et circonstances qui protègent de la consommation abusive de substances et qui plus tard, permettent de sortir d'une consommation à risque d'alcool et de drogues?

Afin de répondre à ces questions de recherche, il nous faut suivre les mêmes personnes sur une période qui s'étend au moins jusqu'à l'âge adulte moyen.

Les études longitudinales sur la consommation de substances sont rares et chères. La plupart sont menées en Amérique du Nord, où la culture des jeunes et très différente. Ces études sont rares en Europe et C>SURF est à notre connaissance la première en Suisse. Or, parmi les pays européens, la Suisse figure en tête de liste concernant la hauteur de consommation de substances par les adolescents.

L'étude C>SURF vise à suivre la consommation de substances par des jeunes adultes de 19 ans sur au moins dix années. Ces jeunes adultes viennent de toutes sortes d'horizons : ce ne sont pas que les plus sages ni ceux qui consomment peu de substances. L'échantillon se veut le plus représentatif possible de la réalité.

L'étude C>SURF s'adresse aux jeunes adultes suisses qui doivent passer par le recrutement obligatoire à l'armée. Ce recrutement couvrant environ 98% de la population masculine âgée de 18 ans, il permet de s'adresser à un éventail maximal de cette population.

Les participants à l'étude sont rémunérés d'un montant intéressant pour des jeunes adultes de cet âge-là.

 

 

 
www.c-surf.ch © 2010-2015
— 50'843 visites —
?
Javascript

Your browser does not support Javascript. This could result from several reasons:

• Javascript is disabled in this browser.

• Your browser is too old for Javascript.

Either enable Javascript in your browser or upgrade to a newer version to enjoy all the functions of this website.