Cohort Study on Substance Use Risk Factors
 

The C-SURF research team

Last update 05.08.2015

Dr. Gerhard Gmel, Principal Investigator

Comprehensive list of publications

Gerhard Gmel is head of the epidemiology and statistics section at non-governmental, non-profit organization Addiction Switzerland, and senior researcher at the Alcohol Treatment Center of the University Hospital Lausanne, Switzerland. In addition to his positions in Switzerland, he is affiliate scientist at the Center for Addiction and Mental Health, Toronto, Canada, and visiting professor at the University of the West of England, Bristol, United Kingdom. His main research interest is on substance use epidemiology, particularly alcohol use. He holds leading roles in many multinational research projects. He is also advisor of the WHO as regards alcohol epidemiology and policy and collaborates with the WHO on the estimation of the Global Burden of Disease stemming from alcohol use. He is Senior Editor of the leading journal in the field Addiction.

 

PD Dr. Meichun Mohler-Kuo, Co-Principal Investigator

Meichun Mohler-Kuo is currently the head of the unit ´mental health and social epidemiology´ and lecturer (Private Docent) at Institute of Epidemiology, Biostatistics and Prevention, University of Zurich. She was trained as a social and psychiatric epidemiologist at the Harvard School of Public Health. She has extensive training and experiences in conducting large epidemiological studies and data analyses. She has led many research projects relating to substance use among adolescents and young adults, child and adolescents’ health and mental health. Her main research interest has been social and environmental determinants of health and social behaviors among children and young adults.

 

Jacques Cornuz, MD, Co- Principal Investigator

Jacques Cornuz, MD, internal medicine board certified, is currently full Professor of Medicine at the Lausanne University hospital Switzerland, and medical chief at the Department of ambulatory care and community medicine in Lausanne. He got a Master of Public Health at Harvard University and has been initially trained in political sciences. He is in charge of the pre-graduate and post-graduate training in smoking and smoking cessation. He is vice-president of the Swiss Federal for smoking prevention commission and an active member of the Society for Research on Nicotine and Tobacco.

 

Jean-Bernard Daeppen, MD, Co- Principal Investigator

Pr. Daeppen is the head of the Alcohol Treatment Centre, a clinical and research unit of the Lausanne University Hospital. He also is associate Professor at Lausanne University Medical school. His research activity focuses on early identification and treatment of alcohol use disorders in medical patients both in primary care and general hospital. He recently completed trials evaluating the efficacy of brief motivational intervention in hospital emergency department and among conscripts at the Swiss army. His research also focuses on the efficacy of training medical students and residents to motivational interviewing. He is currently involved in the C-SURF cohort study and is the principal investigator of a cohort of 800 alcoholic patients. His research conducted to over 70 publications in peer reviewed journals. He is Chief Editor of "Alcoologie et Addictologie" and member of the editorial boards of "Journal of Studies on Alcohol and Drugs", "Addiction Science and Clinical Practice" and "Revue Médicale Suisse".

 

Joan-Carles Surís, MD, Ph.D., Co- Principal Investigator

Joan-Carles Suris is Senior Lecturer in Adolescent Health and head of the  Research Group in Adolescent Health at the Lausanne University Institute of Social and Preventive Medicine (IUMSP). His research focuses mainly on sexual behavior, lifestyles and chronic illness in adolescence and young adulthood.

 

Mohamed Faouzi, Ph.D., Scientific Collaborator

Mohamed Faouzi works as a statistician as well as a research project manager at the University Institute of Social and Preventive Medicine (IUMSP) at the Lausanne University  Hospital. In addition to supervising and carrying out statistical analysis in the various research projects of the Alcohol Center at the Lausanne University Hospital, he works to develop new methodologies in modelling and analyzing data about the evolution of alcohol consumption as well as data of brief interventions (BI).

 

Nicolas Bertholet, MD, M.Sc., Scientific Collaborator

Nicolas Bertholet is chef de clinique in Prevention and Public Health and Psychiatry at the Alcohol Treatment Center, Lausanne University Hospital, Switzerland. His recent work focused on brief interventions and behavior change among persons with unhealthy alcohol use. His research focuses on alcohol use, brief motivational interventions, the processes of change involved in addiction and the use of new technologies in the delivery of secondary prevention interventions. He is currently an Associate Editor of www.aodhealth.org.

 

Jacques Gaume, Ph.D., Scientific Collaborator

Jacques Gaume is a former research fellow at the Alcohol Treatment Center, Lausanne University Hospital, and is currently a Postdoctoral Research Fellow in Behavioral & Social Sciences at the Center for Alcohol and Addiction Studies, Brown University, USA. His recent work focused on brief motivational intervention efficacy and underlying mechanisms in particular populations (emergency room, young people). His research interests comprised alcohol behavioral treatment mechansims, the mechanisms of behavior change, and the evolution of alcohol and substance use in young people.

 

Petra Dermota, M.Sc., Scientific Collaborator

Petra Dermota works as a Scientific Collaborator in mental health and social epidemiology at the Institute of Epidemiology, Biostatistics and Prevention, University of Zurich. Since she graduated in Psychology at the University of Zürich, she has worked on research projects in public health, neurosciences and market research. Her research now focuses on comparing the health literacy of men with high, respectively low substance consumption or abstinence. She also is the contact person for German-speaking participants to the C-SURF study.

 

Joseph Studer, Ph.D, Scientific Collaborator

Graduated in psychology at the University of Lausanne, Joseph Studer defended his doctoral work at the Faculty of Psychology and Educational Sciences at the University of Geneva. His thesis focused on the development of emotion – cognition interaction across the adult lifespan. Since July 2011 he works as a Scientific Collaborator for the C-SURF study. His current research focuses on methodological aspects (i.e. non-response bias, etc.) as well as on psychological aspects associated with substance use

 

Stéphanie Baggio, Ph.D., Scientific Collaborator

Following her Master degree in applied statistics in social sciences and her Ph.D. work in social and environmental psychology, Stéphanie Baggio is interested in the question of risks of all sorts (natural disasters, social risk in business, risks taken by individuals) as well as in associated risk factors and protective factors. Her research currently focuses on cyberaddiction and substance use patterns.

 

Michelle Dey, Ph.D., Scientific collaborator

Michelle Dey studied Psychology and defended her Ph.D. thesis at the University of Zürich on "health and quality of life in children with psychological problems". Since August 2012, her post-doctoral research focuses on mental health and social epidemiology at the Institute of Epidemiology, Biostatistics and Prevention, University of Zurich. Her current research with C-SURF focuses on the cultural differences with regard to substance use, as well as on risk behaviors and health related quality of life.

 

Simon Foster, Ph.D., Scientific Collaborator

Following his Master degree in Psychology at the Universtiy of Bern, Simon Foster achieved his doctoral work at the ETH in Zürich on patient handover and patient safety at hospital. After that he worked as a  post-doc on mental health and social epidemiology at the Institute of Epidemiology, Biostatistics and Prevention, University of Zurich, and since April 2017 at the Swiss Institute for research on public health and addiction (ISGF), an institute associated to the university of Zurich. His current research with C-SURF focuses on alcool consumption related to cantonal legislations and different personality traits.

 

Natalia Estévez, Ph.D., Scientific collaborator

Natalia Estévez has studied psychology and has finished her Ph.D. at the university of Zürich. Her research has focused namely on the investigation of therapy induced brain reorganization in stroke patients. Since october 2012, her post-doctoral work focuses on mental health and social epidemiology at the Institute of Epidemiology, Biostatistics and Prevention, University of Zurich. Her current research in the C-SURF study focuses on the upcoming of the attention deficit syndrome and hyperactivity, as well as related factors.

 

Stéphane Deline, Ph.D., Scientific Collaborator

Following his Ph.D. work in differential psychology at the University of Rennes, Stéphane Deline is interested in the question of individual differences and psychological and environmental factors which influence addictive behaviours and their evolution. His current research focuses on nonmedical use of prescription stimulants.

 

Alexandra A. N'goran MD, MPH, Scientific Collaborator

Graduated as a Medical Doctor, Alexandra N'Goran studied Epidemiology at the University of Paris XI and has worked at the INSERM-U687 for the project Eurostress, focusing on psychosocial factors related to work situations. She also worked as a consultant epidemiologist at Epicentre in Paris in various programs on epidemics, watching and assessing mortality rates and vaccination. Her area of activities is wide as well as her fieldwork experience, namely in the South. She currently works with the C-SURF team as a scientific collaborator, dedicating herself to making best use of the data and publishing articles.

 

Dr. Yves Henchoz, Scientific Collaborator

Following his Ph.D. work in Life Sciences in the Faculty of Biology and Medicine at the University of Lausanne, Yves Henchoz investigated physical activity in various populations. Since he joined the C-SURF team in July 2013, his research has focused on physical activity and psychological and environmental factors related to substance use.

 

Ansgar Rougemont-Bücking, MD; scientific collaborator

Ansgar Rougemont-Bücking, is a psychiatrist and a researcher at the Alcohol Treatment Center, Lausanne University Hospital, Switzerland.  He worked in several research projects and completed a fellowship in the PTSD research group of the Massachusetts General Hospital and Harvard University in Boston, USA.  He is interested in the many interactions between factors of stress and the use of psychoactive substances, and his work focuses on the mechanisms of implicit learning and memory which play a crucial role in many clinical manifestations of post-traumatic stress disorders and addictive disorders.

 

Céline Gachoud Gremaud, MSc ETH, project coordinator

After graduating from the ETH in Zurich, Celine Gremaud worked in the field of strategy for a management consulting firm. In November 2015 she joined the C-SURF team as a project coordinator. She is in charge of project management and database optimization. She is also responsible for the measures to increase participation rate as well as for hiring and coaching the research assistants of the project.

 

Charlotte Eidenbenz, M.A., former project coordinator

Since she graduated at the University of Lausanne in Arts, Charlotte Eidenbenz is interested in project management in various areas as well as in public health. She has coordinated the C-SURF research study since its launch in 2010 and until 2015, and also was the data manager. She speaks French, English and German fluently.

 

 
www.c-surf.ch © 2010-2015
— 37'266 visites —
?
Javascript

Your browser does not support Javascript. This could result from several reasons:

• Javascript is disabled in this browser.

• Your browser is too old for Javascript.

Either enable Javascript in your browser or upgrade to a newer version to enjoy all the functions of this website.

Cohort Study on Substance Use Risk Factors
 

L'équipe de recherche C-SURF

Mis à jour le 5.8.2015

Dr. Gerhard Gmel, Investigateur principal

Liste complète de publications

Gerhard Gmel dirige la section d’épidémiologie et statistique de l’organisation non gouvernementale et à but non lucratif Addiction Suisse, et travaille en tant que  chercheur senior au Service d’alcoologie du Centre hospitalier universitaire vaudois à Lausanne, Suisse. En plus de ses responsabilités en Suisse, il est également scientifique affilié au Centre de toxicomanie  et santé mentale à Toronto, Canada, ainsi que professeur invité à l’University of the West of England, à Bristol, Royaume Uni. Son domaine de recherche principal est l’épidémiologie de la consommation de substances, en particulier l’alcool. Il joue des rôles importants dans de nombreux projets de recherche internationaux. Il est également consultant auprès de WHO en ce qui concerne l’épidémiologie et la politique liées à l’alcool et collabore avec WHO pour évaluer le “Global Burden of Disease” résultant de la consommation d’alcool. De plus, il est éditeur senior d’Addiction, le journal le plus important dans le domaine.

 

PD Dr. Meichun Mohler-Kuo, co-Investigatrice principale

Meichun Mohler-Kuo dirige actuellement la section d’épidémiologie sociale et de santé mentale et est chargée de cours à l’Institut de médecine sociale et préventive à Zürich. Elle a étudié l’épidémiologie psychiatrique et sociale au Collège de santé publique à Harvard. Elle dispose également d’une large formation et expérience dans la conduite de grandes études épidémiologiques et dans l’analyse de données. Elle a dirigé de nombreux projets de recherche relatifs à la consommation de substances par les adolescents et les jeunes adultes, ainsi qu’à la santé mentale et physique des enfants et adolescents. Dans son travail de recherche, elle s’intéresse particulièrement aux facteurs sociaux et environnementaux jouant un rôle dans la santé et les comportements sociaux chez les enfants et jeunes adultes.

 

Prof. Jacques Cornuz, co-Investigateur principal

Le Pr. Jacques Cornuz est interniste FMH. Il a fait ses études à Lausanne et Boston (Master of Public Health, Harvard University). Il est également licencié en sciences politiques de l’UNIL. Depuis le 1er août 2011, il est professeur ordinaire à la Faculté de médecine de Lausanne et directeur de la Policlinique Médicale Universitaire. J. Cornuz est responsable de l’enseignement des problèmes liés au tabagisme. Il est vice-président de la Commission fédérale suisse pour la prévention du tabagisme et membre actif de plusieurs sociétés de tabacologie, en particulier la Société française de tabacologie et la Society for Research on Nicotine and Tobacco.

 

Prof. Jean-Bernard Daeppen, co-Investigateur principal

Le Prof. Daeppen est chef du Service d’alcoologie, service de clinique et de recherche du Centre Hospitalier Universitaire Vaudois à Lausanne. Il est également professeur associé à la faculté de médecine de l’université de Lausanne. Son travail de recherche porte sur l’identification et le traitement des comportements à risques liés à la consommation d’alcool, tant en médecine de premier recours qu’à l’hôpital. Il a récemment étudié l’efficacité de l’intervention brève motivationnelle dans un service d’urgences et auprès des conscrits de l’armée suisse. Son travail de recherche porte également sur l’efficacité de l’enseignement à l’entretien motivationnel aux étudiants en médecine ainsi qu’aux médecins assistants. Il participe aux travaux de la cohorte C-SURF. Il est également l’investigateur principal d’une cohorte de 800 patients alcooliques. Son travail de recherche a généré plus de 70 publications dans des revues avec comité lecture. Il est éditeur en chef d’Alcoologie et Addictologie et éditeur associé de Addiction Science and Clinical Practice. Il est membre des comités d’édition de Journal of Studies on Alcohol and Drugs et de la Revue Médicale Suisse.

 

Dr. Joan-Carles Surís, co-Investigateur principal

Joan-Carles Suris est chargé de cours senior en santé des adolescents et dirige le groupe de recherche en santé des adolescents à l’Institut de médecine sociale et préventive à l’Université de Lausanne (IUMSP). Son travail de recherche porte principalement sur le comportement sexuel, les styles de vie et les maladies chroniques chez les jeunes adultes et les adolescents.

 

Dr. Mohamed Faouzi, collaborateur scientifique

Mohamed Faouzi, statisticien, chef de projet  de recherche au sein de l'Institut universitaire de médecine sociale et préventive (IUMSP) du Centre hospitalier universitaire vaudois. En plus de la conduite et la supervision des analyses statistiques menées dans le cadre des différents projets de recherche au Service d'alcoologie du Centre hospitalier universitaire vaudois, il travaille au développement de nouvelles méthodologies pour la modélisation et l'analyse des données d'évolution de la consommation d'alcool et des données de contenu de l'intervention brève (IB).

 

Dr. Nicolas Bertholet, collaborateur scientifique

Nicolas Bertholet est chef de clinique (prévention et santé publique et psychiatrie) au Service d’alcoologie du Centre hospitalier universitaire vaudois à Lausanne, Suisse. Ses travaux récents portent sur l’intervention brève et les changements de comportement chez les personnes présentant une consommation d’alcool à risque, avec ou sans dépendance. Son travail de recherche porte sur la consommation d’alcool, l’intervention brève motivationnelle, les processus de changement ainsi que l’usage de nouvelles technologies pour la mise en œuvre d’interventions de prévention secondaire. Il est éditeur associé de www.aodhealth.org.

 

Dr. Jacques Gaume, collaborateur scientifique

Jacques Gaume est un ancien collaborateur de recherche du Service d’alcoologie du Centre hospitalier universitaire vaudois à Lausanne, Suisse et est actuellement collaborateur de recherche postdoctoral en sciences sociales et comportementales au Center for Alcohol and Addiction Studies, Brown University, USA. Ses travaux récents portent sur l’efficacité de l’intervention brève motivationnelle et les mécanismes sous-jacents de celle-ci dans des populations particulières (aux Urgences et parmi les jeunes adultes). Ses intérêts de recherche portent sur les mécanismes des traitements comportementaux des problèmes d'alcool, sur les mécanismes du changement de comportement et sur l'évolution de la consommation de substances chez les jeunes adultes.

 

M.Sc. Petra Dermota, collaboratrice scientifique

Petra Dermota est collaboratrice de recherche en santé mentale et épidémiologie sociale à l'Institut d'épidémiologie, biostatistique et prévention de l'université de Zürich. Depuis sa formation en psychologie à l’Université de Zürich, elle a travaillé pour des projets de recherche en santé publique, neurosciences et recherche de marché. Son travail de recherche porte actuellement sur la comparaison des connaissances sur la santé parmi les hommes à forte, respectivement à faible consommation de substances, voire abstinents. Elle est également la personne de contact pour les participants germanophones à l’étude C-SURF.

 

Dr. Joseph Studer, collaborateur scientifique

Après avoir étudié la psychologie à l’Université de Lausanne, Joseph Studer a obtenu son doctorat à la Faculté de Psychologie et des Sciences de l’Éducation de l’Université de Genève. Sa thèse porte sur les changements intervenant au niveau de l’interaction émotion - cognition au cours de l’âge adulte. Depuis juillet 2011, il travaille comme collaborateur scientifique pour le projet C-SURF. Dans le cadre de C-SURF, ses recherches portent sur les aspects méthodologiques (p. ex. biais de non-réponse) et sur les facteurs psychologiques associés à la consommation de substances.

 

Dr. Stéphanie Baggio, collaboratrice scientifique

Titulaire d’un doctorat en psychologie sociale et environnementale et d’un Master en statistiques appliquées aux sciences humaines et sociales, Stéphanie Baggio s’intéresse à la question du risque sous diverses formes (catastrophes naturelles, risque social en entreprise, risques pris par les individus) et des facteurs de risque et protection qui y sont associés. Ses recherches actuelles portent sur la cyberdépendance et les patterns de consommation de substances.

 

Dr. Michelle Dey, collaboratrice scientifique

Michelle Dey a étudié la psychologie et a soutenu son doctorat à l'Université de Zürich sur le thème du "lien entre la santé et la qualité de vie des enfants souffrant de problèmes psychiques". Depuis août 2012, son travail de post-doctorat porte sur la santé mentale et l'épidémiologie sociale à l'Institut d'épidémiologie, biostatistique et prévention. Son travail de recherche dans le cadre de C-SURF porte plus particulièrement sur les différences culturelles en regard à la consommation de substances, ainsi que sur les liens entre les comportements à risque et la qualité de vie en termes de santé.

 

Dr. Simon Foster, collaborateur scientifique

Après avoir étudié la psychologie à l'université de Berne, Simon Foster a soutenu son doctorat à l'ETH, Zürich, sur le thème de la remise des patients et la sécurité des patients à l'hôpital. Par la suite il a travaillé en tant que post-doctorant dans le domaine de la santé mentale et l'épidémiologie sociale à l'Institut d'épidémiologie, biostatistique et prévention de l'université de Zürich, et depuis avril 2017 à l’Institut suisse de recherche sur la santé publique et les addictions (ISGF). Son travail de recherche actuel dans le cadre du projet C-SURF porte sur la consommation d’alcool en lien avec les différentes lois cantonales et divers traits de personnalité.

 

Dr. Natalia Estévez, collaboratrice scientifique

Natalia Estévez a étudié la psychologie et a soutenu son doctorat en neurosciences à l'université de Zürich. Son travail de recherche portait entre autres sur les processus de réorganisation du cerveau induite par thérapie chez des patients suite à des attaques d'apoplexie. Depuis octobre 2012, son travail de post-doctorat porte sur la santé psychique et l'épidémiologie sociale à l'Institut d'épidémiologie, biostatistique et prévention. Dans le cadre de l'étude C-SURF, Natalia Estévez s'intéresse à l'apparition du syndrome du déficit de l'attention et de l'hyperactivité ainsi que les facteurs associés.

 

Dr. Stéphane Deline, collaborateur scientifique

Titulaire d’un doctorat de psychologie différentielle de l'université de Rennes, Stéphane Deline s’intéresse aux différences entre individus et aux facteurs psychologiques et environnementaux pouvant influencer les conduites addictives et leur évolution. Ses recherches actuelles portent sur la consommation de substances médicales à des fins non médicamenteuses.

 

Alexandra A. N'goran MD, MPH, collaboratrice scientifique

Médecin de formation et titulaire d'un Master en Epidémiologie délivré par l'Université Paris XI, Alexandra N'Goran a travaillé à l’INSERM-U687 sur les facteurs psychosociaux au travail dans le cadre du projet Eurostress puis comme Consultante Epidémiologiste à Epicentre Paris dans divers types de programmes d'investigation d’épidémies, de surveillance, d'estimation de la mortalité, d'activités de vaccination. Son domaine d'activité est large ainsi que sa connaissance du terrain (expérience internationale notamment dans les pays du Sud). Actuellement membre de l'équipe  C-SURF, elle travaille en tant que collaboratrice scientifique en vue de participer à la valorisation des données de la cohorte notamment par l’analyse des données et la publication d’articles scientifiques.

 

Dr. Yves Henchoz, collaborateur scientifique

Yves Henchoz a obtenu son doctorat en sciences de la vie à la Faculté de biologie et de médecine de l'Université de Lausanne. En continuité avec sa thèse, ses travaux récents ont porté sur l'activité physique et la qualité de vie de populations variées. Membre de l'équipe C-SURF depuis juillet 2013, Yves Henchoz s'intéresse actuellement au rôle de l'activité physique et des facteurs psychologiques et environnementaux dans la consommation de substances.

 

Dr. Ansgar Rougemont-Bücking, collaborateur scientifique

Ansgar Rougemont-Bücking est psychiatre et travaille en tant que chercheur au Service d’alcoologie du Centre hospitalier universitaire vaudois à Lausanne, Suisse. Ayant participé à plusieurs projets de recherche, dont le PTSD research group du Massachusetts General Hospital and Harvard University à Boston, aux Etats-Unis, il s’intéresse aux multiples interactions entre le stress chronique et l’utilisation de substances psychoactives. Son travail se focalise sur les mécanismes de l’apprentissage implicite qui se trouvent à la base de nombreuses manifestations cliniques des troubles post-traumatiques et addictifs.

 

Céline Gachoud Gremaud, MSc ETH, coordinatrice de projet

Après ses études en sciences alimentaires à l’ETH de Zurich, Céline Gremaud a longtemps travaillé dans le domaine de la stratégie d’entreprise au sein d’une société de conseil. En novembre 2015 elle intègre l’équipe de C-SURF où elle est en charge de la gestion du projet et de l’optimisation des bases de données. Elle est également responsable des mesures visant à augmenter le taux de participation et de l’engagement et du suivi des auxiliaires de recherche du projet.

 

M.A. Charlotte Eidenbenz, coordinatrice de projet de 2010 à 2015

Depuis son obtention d’une maîtrise ès Lettres de l’Université de Lausanne, Charlotte Eidenbenz s’intéresse à la gestion de projet ainsi qu’à la santé publique. Elle a coordonné l’étude de recherche C-SURF depuis son lancement en 2010 et jusqu'en 2015, et était responsable de la gestion des données de l’étude. Elle parle couramment le français, l’anglais et l’allemand. 

 

 

 
www.c-surf.ch © 2010-2015
— 37'264 visites —
?
Javascript

Your browser does not support Javascript. This could result from several reasons:

• Javascript is disabled in this browser.

• Your browser is too old for Javascript.

Either enable Javascript in your browser or upgrade to a newer version to enjoy all the functions of this website.