Cohort Study on Substance Use Risk Factors
 

Study description

Substance consumption by young people remains one of the most widespread and costly problems in Europe. This remains true despite important investments made into education and prevention related to alcohol and drug consumption. It is the first cause of death among young people in the world. Consumption of illicit drugs and alcohol is associated with various hazardous behaviours such as violence, injuries, suicide, depression, school dropouts or risk sexual behaviours. It is a strong factor in substance abuse later at adult age and addiction, particularly among men in most societies.

A majority of young men have hazardous behaviours. According to a study directed in Switzerland, near to 70% of 19-year-old-men have hazardous behaviours (i.e. cannabis consumption at least twice a week, daily tobacco consumption or binch drinking at least twice a month). And yet, a majority of young men with hazardous behaviours mature out at adult age. Unfortunately not all of them.

Such behaviours as substance consumption are the result of the interaction and interdependance between behavioural, personal and environmental factors. Environmental and family factors tend to strengthen such behaviours, while personal factors alter the way in which individuals perceive and interact with their environment.

 

 

Main study investigations:

What are the tendencies and prevalence in substance consumption? What are their consequencies among young adults in Switzerland?

How come that a majority of young adults with risk behaviours come up again, but later, with risk behaviours? What are the risk and protective factors and circumstances that protect from substance abuse and that allow to mature out later in life?

In order to reply to such investigations, it is necessary to follow the same persons up to their middle age.

Longitudinal studies on substance consumption are rare and costly. Most of them are directed in North America, where youth culture is multiple. Such studies are rare in Europe. C-SURF is the first in Europe, to our knowledge. And yet, Switzerland stands in the head of European countries with regard to substance consumption rates by teenagers.

The C>SURF study seeks to follow substance consumption by 19-year-old-young adults during at leat 10 years. These young adults come from all sorts of horizons: they are not all "clean", nor do they all have a low consumption rate. The sample in this study seeks to be the most representative of real life.

The C>SURF study concerns young swiss adults who have to go through the mandatory recruitment process at the Swiss army. This process covers 98% of the swiss male 18-year-old-people. It allows our study to cover a maximal range of the male population in Switzerland.

Participants in this study receive a financial reward (vouchers), which is interesting considering their age.

 

 
www.c-surf.ch © 2010-2015
— 50'842 visites —
?
Javascript

Your browser does not support Javascript. This could result from several reasons:

• Javascript is disabled in this browser.

• Your browser is too old for Javascript.

Either enable Javascript in your browser or upgrade to a newer version to enjoy all the functions of this website.

Cohort Study on Substance Use Risk Factors
 

Studienbeschreibung

Hintergrund

Suchtmittelkonsum bei Jugendlichen und jungen Erwachsenen gehört trotz hohen Investitionen in Präventions- und Gesundheitskampagnen zu einem, der am weitesten verbreiteten und kostspieligsten Problemen in Europa. Die Schweiz gehört zu den führenden Nationen Europas im Substanzgebrauch Jugendlicher und junger Erwachsener. In einigen Bereichen (z.B. Cannabis) nimmt sie gar eine Spitzenposition ein. Der Gebrauch legaler und illegaler Substanzen ist bei Jugendlichen und jungen Erwachsenen, insbesondere bei Männern, die Hauptursache für Krankheiten und Sterblichkeit im jungen Alter und steht in Verbindung mit verschiedenen Risikoverhaltensweisen wie Gewalttätigkeit, Suizid, depressiven Erkrankungen, Schulabbruch und riskantem sexuellen Verhalten. Auch ist es ein starker Prädiktor für Substanzmissbrauch und Substanzabhängigkeit im späten Erwachsenenalter und in fast allen Gesellschaften weiter verbreitet unter Männern.

Die Mehrheit aller jungen Männer weisen Risikoverhalten auf. In einer Studie unter 19-jährigen Männern in der Schweiz zeigten beinahe 70% der jungen Männer Risikoverhalten (definiert als Cannabiskonsum mindestens zweimal pro Woche, täglicher Tabakkonsum oder Besäufnissen mindestens zweimal pro Monat). Obwohl der Substanzgebrauch in jungen Jahren weit verbreitet ist, finden im weiteren Lebensverlauf viele junge Menschen zu einem gemässigten Konsum zurück, andere jedoch gleiten weiter in die Abhängigkeit ab, verbunden mit vielen sozialen und gesundheitlichen Folgen für sich, ihre Familien und die Gesellschaft. 

 

Hauptforschungsfragen

Jedes Mal, wenn in der Schweiz über die hohen Anteile an substanzmissbrauchenden Jugendlichen und jungen Erwachsenen berichtet wird, bleiben Fragen nach dem "warum" und dem "was zu tun sei" unbeantwortet. C-SURF sucht genau diese Fragen zu beantworten und Risiko- und Schutzfaktoren zu identifizieren:

Weshalb weisen die meisten der jungen Erwachsenen mit Risikoverhalten später wieder unauffällige Verhaltensweisen auf? Was sind die Schutzfaktoren und Umstände, die übermässigen Substanzkonsum verhindern und später zum Herauswachsen aus dem problematischen Gebrauch von Alkohol und Drogen führen?

Weshalb zeigen einige junge Erwachsene weiterhin ein problematisches Suchtmittelverhalten oder verstärken das Verhalten sogar mit zunehmendem Alter? Was sind die Risikofaktoren und Umstände, die Menschen dafür anfällig machen, starke Suchtmittelkonsumenten zu werden, einen starken Suchtmittelkonsum beizubehalten oder gar mit steigendem Alter den Konsum noch zu steigern?

Einige wissenschaftlichen Stärken

Um die Hauptforschungsfragen beantworten zu können, müssen die gleichen Personen während eines längeren Zeitraumes begleitet werden und dies mindestens bis zum mittleren Erwachsenenalter.

Langzeitstudien zum Substanzkonsum sind selten und teuer. Die meisten existieren in Nordamerika, mit einer völlig anderen Jugendkultur. Es gibt nur sehr wenige Langzeitstudien zum Substanzkonsum in Europa und C-Surf ist unseres Wissens die erste in der Schweiz. Ziel von C-Surf ist, heute 19 Jahre alte Männer während einem Zeitraum von mindestens 10 Jahren zu begleiten.

Nicht nur die netten und wohlerzogenen „guten Jungen" mit eher moderaten Substanzkonsummustern sind Teilnehmer dieser Studie: Ziel von C-Surf war es, eine für die Schweiz wirklich repräsentative Stichprobe zu rekrutieren. Die Teilnehmer der Studie wurden während der Aushebung im Armee-Rekrutierungszentrum kontaktiert. Die Aushebung bei der Armee ist in der Schweiz obligatorisch und es gehen ungefähr 98% aller jungen Männer eines bestimmten Alters durch diesen Prozess.

Die Teilnehmer werden für ihren Zeitaufwand an der Studie angemessen entlöhnt.

 

 
www.c-surf.ch © 2010-2015
— 50'841 visites —
?
Javascript

Your browser does not support Javascript. This could result from several reasons:

• Javascript is disabled in this browser.

• Your browser is too old for Javascript.

Either enable Javascript in your browser or upgrade to a newer version to enjoy all the functions of this website.